Didge on the Road

didge_sessionHere I am, a few days ago, in Orange County, with Amaya Victoria, who is a spiritual teacher with many gifts. She is lying on the floor on the receiving end of my didgeridoo.

I met Amaya about five years ago at a mental health drum circle event in the Long Beach area. We established an instant rapport and remained in touch. Two or three years ago, I played didge on a group journey she led.

Amaya’s place is my first stop on my New Heart, New Start journey. The understanding was I would be here for two days. But we had a lot to catch up on. A lot. So here I am, still here.

Last night, I joined her friends – and daughter Sarah, who also lives here –  in wishing her a happy birthday. The other evening, a good friend of hers, Mike, rolled into town. Long conversations into the night.

Okay, the didge thing: The didgeridoo is an ancient instrument, and westerners wasted no time in applying it as a spiritual healing and journeying tool. The unique tonal qualities of the didgeridoo encourage deep meditation and visualization. In this way, it is similar to singing bowls, Native American drums, and gongs. What happens on the receiving end is unique to each individual.

For the last two years, I had been working with a shamanic practitioner in San Diego, learning as I went along. Mara, the practitioner I worked with, informed me that the deep fundamental tones of the didgeridoo make the instrument well-suited to working on the lower chakras. These tend to be overlooked by many practitioners, who tend to focus on the ones from the heart to the crown, generally associated with advanced spiritual development.

But the upper chakras are only half the picture. The lower chakras seem to be where our trauma is locked in. Plus, they are the root of out primal energy. From what I understand – releasing or activating what goes on beneath the surface can result in profound emotional healing. Amaya validated this for me.

You can look at chakras in a literal or symbolic sense. To me, it doesn’t matter. Oh, and by the way, the complex didge soundwave guarantees the upper chakras won’t be overlooked.

If you are simply looking to accept the didge on its own terms, just lie back, clear your mind, and become one with the deep low drone. You will feel it on the cellular level. The effect may be mind-blowing, or it may be subtle.

Since I’m a mental health writer who needs to stay on top of brain science, I have found a lot of scientific validation for what may be going on at the neural level during a sound journey. Basically, parts of the brain that don’t ordinarily talk to each other seem to start talking to each other. This opens the way to new perceptions and insights. I go into this in depth in an article, Vibration, Rhythm, Music, on my mcmanweb website.

I like to joke that I’m an instrument of the instrument. I let the didge guide me. It has taken me to deep interior places. It has been a vital part of my healing and recovery.  It has connected me with new friends. Amaya is one of them, a valued one. Tomorrow, she and I will be doing a podcast together. Then, time to ask her and Sarah and Mike to sign my travel didgeridoo. Then pack my didges into my car, along with the rest of my stuff. This is my new life. Part of a journey that began 67 years ago when I opened my eyes on a new world. Here I am, the world is still new …

You can see what Amaya is up to by joining her mailing list on her Amaya Center website.

 

Leave a Reply

